a wine cellar with many bottles of wine

San Ysidro Ranch Acquires Legendary Private Collection of Dessert Wines

Château d'Yquem Collection Joins Petrus Collection to Create an Unrivaled Stonehouse Wine Cellar

In acquiring a 138-bottle of Château d'Yquem wines dating back to 1811, San Ysidro Ranch proves that it is, once again, having a very good year. “This collection is less a collection of wine and more a collection of art,” explains Tristan Pitre. “Each bottle is so completely unique – from the varied yellow, gold, and bronzed hues of the liquid inside to the hand-blown bottles that house the oldest of bottles. As a collection, it is truly remarkable, speaking not only to the wine lover but also the history lover, as each vintage has a special story to tell!”

San Ysidro Ranch acquired the collection from a private collector, who amassed some of Château d'Yquem’s greatest vintages, including the famed 1811 “Asteroid” vintage, the most expensive white wine ever sold.

"This is the perfect complement to our Petrus collection. With this acquisition, we now offer the greatest red wine and sweet wine created in Bordeaux. We have assembled a collection of the greatest vintages and offerings not seen at any restaurant in the world.” –Tristan Pitre

a wine bottles on a shelf

Château d'Yquem is hailed as the greatest sweet wine in the world, and its reputation is synonymous with unparalleled excellence in the realm of dessert wines. Renowned for its exquisite Sauternes, Château d'Yquem consistently sets the standard for sweet white wines. Its commitment to perfection is evident in its meticulous grape selection, comprising only the finest botrytized Semillon and Sauvignon Blanc grapes. The result is a wine of extraordinary complexity, richness, and longevity. Founded in 1327, Château d'Yquem's illustrious history, coupled with its dedication to quality and tradition, solidifies its status as the pinnacle of sweet wine production, making it a cherished gem among wine connoisseurs worldwide.

The Full Collection

  • 1811
  • 1831
  • 1849
  • 1855
  • 1856
  • 1857
  • 1858
  • 1859
  • 1862
  • 1865
  • 1867
  • 1868
  • 1869
  • 1870
  • 1873
  • 1874
  • 1876
  • 1878
  • 1879
  • 1880
  • 1881
  • 1882
  • 1883
  • 1884
  • 1885